top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlissa Larsen

The Blessing of the Conflicted Life

Everyday we hear about all of the bad that's happening in the world. How many cases of COVID-19 are in our county, state, country, continent and the world. I hear about friends and family members who are struggling to get by because of lost jobs, diminished income, being forced to move due to less than stellar circumstances. A lot of bad is going on in the world right now, and it's hard to ignore.


But for some reason, the bad things haven't gotten to me. I haven't gotten sick, which is honestly a surprise since we were traveling so much. We don't get to tour right now, but that means I get to have a comfortable environment, a consistent schedule, and more time with my husband. It's almost like we're living a normal life that we haven't gotten to since we've been married. #lovemyhubby


I've also had the blessing of getting a job during this downtime! We traveled to Spokane to stay with my parents and I was hired on at a local Fred Meyer store into their Clicklist department. I'm actually really enjoying it, as it challenges me to get people's orders ready faster. Already I'm one of the top 5 most productive pickers in the department, and God has given me favor with my manager and shift supervisors. #lovemyjob I will say it's a weird feeling to have a paycheck again.


I kind of feel like Joseph in the midst of the famine of Egypt. He had gone through difficult times, abuse, being the lowest of low and yet God brought him out of it. He put him in a position of leadership and because of it they lived in a pocket of blessing amidst the suffering of the world. They were able to help people from all over, because of how God had blessed them.


I relate to his story now, but I also feel conflicted. We went through such difficult times financially, health-wise and in so many other areas this past year that it doesn't feel normal. It also doesn't feel fair that God has so richly blessed us when so many other people are suffering right now, some of them that we know personally. #dontknowhowtofeel


I'm reminded of verse in scripture that one of my college professors pointed out to us at New Hope. It's Exodus 15:27; "Then they came to Elim, where there were twelve springs and seventy palm trees, and they camped there near the water." My professor said that amidst the Israelites' troubles, God brought them to a place of rest: an oasis. There was water, shade and everything they needed to find themselves at peace in the middle of their journey through the desert. And he encouraged us to ask God for an oasis, a time of peace and rest.


I vaguely remember praying that earlier this year as it was a difficult time for us. And now, this difficult time is a blessing in disguise for us. I'm learning to be thankful for the blessing even in the time of suffering for others. And I'm also looking for ways to bless and encourage those who are hurting, because God's blessing is not for us to keep. #passiton


If you're struggling, don't be afraid to ask God for an oasis so you can rest. And if you are thriving, look for how God might want you to pass on your blessing.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page